A Personal Day

very now and then, you need to take a mental vacation from the world. You need to remove yourself from the social pool of life (or stress) and recharge your batteries.

You need to cocoon, sleep in, and bathe in the sun.

It’s hard, as I’ve come to find out, to give 100 percent all the time and the stress of daily life can really take a toll on the quality of your work. As odd as it may sound, it’s really difficult to ACTUALLY take a personal day. In the end, your “personal” day turns into a “try-to-convince-myself-to-relax” day. Then spiraling into various self-realizations where I end up posing questions that always threaten my day of “relaxation.” I start thinking about all the projects I have, all the things I need to do, deadlines, emails, PRACTICING, and studying…I just make myself feel worse for taking the day off.

This Is Counterproductive!

My day of relaxation was counterproductive and I just took three steps back.

What does one do? Aside from drinking at 10am where, by noon you’re a sloppy drunk, and by 1 your arrested for disorderly conduct and drunk in public.

As entertaining a notion as this may sound it’s probably something I should avoid.

At all costs.

What do you do when you take a personal day? How do you keep yourself from thinking about all the things you NEED to do, and just relax and enjoy the moment?

Oh well, back to the grinding block tomorrow.

Happy Music Making!!

One response to “A Personal Day

  1. I completely understand this. I mean, when you are an active musician, it’s even impossible to take a sick day when you are so sick you can barely get out of bed, let alone a personal day to just relax! We pay a high price for what we do, and it often comes in the form of no personal time. Once a semester, I take a day to myself, even if I have class that day, I send out e-mails saying that I’m “sick” and stay home and just lay in bed, sleep, read, do whatever I want to do. My mother calls it a “mental health day” and that’s exactly what it is. On those days, sometimes I do feel guilty, but I really need them for my sanity, and so I am usually able to relax and be introverted. Interacting with people can be VERY tiring.

Leave a Reply

