Manuscripts are for Changing

I know, it has been a while since I’ve been here – since my last rant.

But, here I am. I always say that you eventually find yourself, some how, back to home base. Though this may be no home base, it is definitely a good place for me. Writing, for that matter, is a good place.

The world of Adam has changed quite drastically in the past few months.

I’ve been promoted to Assistant General Manger of concert:nova. It has been a wonderful ride, one that I’m not ready to get off until I’m at least close to 70+ years old.

It’s interesting when you progress in an organization from PA, to Admin Assistant, to Assistant GM. You really have to work twice as hard to prove yourself a valuable asset. I know that sounds strange, but it’s the clout and candor you need in order to function in this sort of capacity. Though this is not a bad thing, I just have to really be on top of my game. And I kind of love that.

I do have to make some really big decisions these next couple of months. concert:nova is growing and I’m beginning to realize that everything I’ve ever wanted to achieve as a musician I’m achieving working through c:n. I want to change the world of music and bring it back to the people. I want to change how the US reacts to cultural arts. The work I do at c:n is much much bigger than me, it is about something larger than the individual goals I could ever achieve in my life time.

I love playing and I couldn’t imagine a life of not playing, but I play for people (and myself to some degree).

What do I do? Continue pursuing a performing/teaching career only to change the lives of the ones I encounter? Or work here and really fulfill a mission that is far larger and more important than my own individual needs? Can I find a balance? Is there a balance?

Hmm. I have lots to think about.

Give me your thoughts, what do you think? What would you do and how would you do it?

Leave a Reply

