My Path to Nirvana

It’s been a while since my last post – a lot has changed in my life.

My father passed away suddenly in the beginning of May. May 2nd, to be exact. He died from a severe stem stroke that effected 75 percent of his entire brain.

My dad was my rock, my core and my center. He continually pushed me to reach new limits and planes in my life.

His death has affected in ways I cannot explain. The emotional toll I’ve taken has been indescribable. I’ve yet to figure out how to control my emotions, how to accept what has happened, has happened. I came to this realization a few days ago when I found myself saying and doing things that are not at all characteristic to my personality.

So – in attempts to find myself again, I’ve started rediscovering myself. I’m not certain how I’m going to do that. I know it’s going to be tough and I’m not really certain what to expect. But it’s time.

I’ve been reading a lot about Buddhism lately and have found a considerable amount of solace and personal help in those readings.

The Essence of Buddhism:

1. The greatest achievement is selflessness
2. The greatest worth is self-mastery
3. The greatest quality is seeking to serve others.
4. The greatest precept is continual awareness.
5. The greatest medicine is the emptiness of everything.
6. The Greatest action is not conforming with the worlds ways.
7. The greatest magic is transmuting the passions.
8. The greatest generosity is non-attachment.
9. The greatest goodness is a peaceful mind.
10. The greatest patience is humility.
11. The greatest effort is not concerned with result.
12. The greatest meditation is a mind that lets go.
13. The greatest wisdom is seeing through appearances.

I’m nervous, I guess, because I’m not certain where this is going to take me. What will I find out about myself in this process?

Who am I?

:sigh:

 

 

Leave a Reply

