Procrastination. I LURVE it.

Two posts in one week. Now that, for me, is impressive.

I remember the good old days when I would post one or two…or six…times a day. Those days are long gone, they are but distant memories of my youth.

Ah well. I’ll be happy to at least get in one every two days.

I met up with Ben Friemuth today, for those of you who don’t know Ben (or his wife), google them. They’re wonderful people and amazing musicians! Ben is going to be a father soon, that’s very exciting, they’re going to be such wonderful parents!

I didn’t play at all today in my lesson, I was a little confused at first, but then relaxed. I’m so used to coming into a lesson, throwing my instrument together and blasting out the latest excerpts I’m working on… after which I have my face ripped off because I can’t play the clarinet.

It was really nice to have Ben actually sit down and ask me questions. You could tell that he was investing his time in my development, even though he’s never heard me play. He show a real interest.

I don’t know about everyone else, but that meant a lot. At my age, and by that I mean working on my doctorate NOT my actual physical age, you need to be able to have a certain type of dialogue with your teachers/professors. I’m not REALLY a student anymore, I’m not just another clarinet player anymore – I’m a professional clarinetists working on his Doctorate to then turn around and teach OTHER clarinet players and students. It’s important to me that I gain AS much knowledge and experience as possible. Ben opened that dialogue and I, in turn, was capable of opening that dialogue to him – and told him what I want and what my downfalls are and what I need help with.

Which is tough because I just admitted to him all my weird bad habits.

Mostly the fact that I drag my feet and tend to procrastinate on certain things. Like right now, I should be practicing and preparing for a lesson – but instead I’m writing this blog.

I don’t know, just seemed more pressing at the moment. This self-analysis of my feelings just seems more important than hashing away at the Brahms Sonatas right now.

Ugh, I’m going to have to buy a new clarinet this year…it’s about time, but I’m not really certain how I’m going to get this money…

I need to come up with 2,700 dollars…fast.

Leave a Reply

