The Journey

I originally walked to school with the intention of printing out an article that I need to read and analyze for a doctoral seminar tomorrow. Now I’m writing a post in the computer lab as opposed to actually working on the article.

Why? Because of this book:

I know it seems pretty ridiculous…any of these stupid books I usually push aside as ridiculous fodder and move about my day. However, I accidentally downloaded this book to my phone, for a total of 12 or 15 dollars. I don’t remember, actually. I hate wasting money, so I’m going to read it and at least try to gain 15 dollars worth of knowledge….

Try at least.

Well, I started reading it…along with another book…both of which are, actually pretty decent. The latter of the two, “The Musicians Way,” seems a bit elementary, though I’m enjoying it. It’s the idea of going back to the basic, though it’s designed for amateur and undergraduate students. I enjoy the stripping of the layers, the need to “stop over-analysing carpet fibers” concept and look at things in a larger picture.

Anyways…I’m actually rather stunned at how effective that memory book is. After a few exercises I have managed to ingrain, not on purpose, mind you…the first 10 elements of the periodical table and the 14 largest countries, memorized from largest to smallest…

Hydrogen, Helium, Lithium, beryllium, boron, carbon, nitrogen, oxygen, fluorine, and neon….

Russia, Canada, USA, China, Brazil, Australia, India, Argentina, Kazakhstan, Sudan, Algeria, Congo, Saudi Arabia, and Mexico….

I didn’t memorize these on purpose…I feel like I’ve been TRICKED!!! Though now I have some fascinating info for a cocktail party.

Or not…

Leave a Reply

