Move to the Nearest Exit

The “slippery slope” theory has always fascinated me. I find the relationship between elements, people, objects, and events extremely interesting. I don’t sit around and eagerly wait for negative events to happen so I can swim in all my “epistemological” pool of happiness.

No, it’s more the cause and effect of certain events that have me enthralled. It’s just unfortunate that the events whose “cause and effects” are most transparent, also happen to be the most negative. :-/

Right now, I’m referring the current situation in the classical music world. There’s a lot going on…unfortunately, it’s the negative stuff thats becoming most apparent and making news headlines.

20120410-143324.jpg

Most recently the Louisville Orchestra Situation. Now, orchestras have been folding around the U.S. for quite sometime, many have filed for bankruptcy, etc. But why has the LO situation become more viral than the other events?

There’s a saying, that escapes me at the moment, something about letting the skeletons out of the closet. This is sort what the LO situation has done. It’s a pretty crappy situation.

Unfortunately, whats leaking to the media is all the petty banter and negative comments. Things I really think that should be kept behind closed doors and away from any news-media outlets. If negotiations aren’t fair, etc., and a compromise cannot be found
…well, I don’t think it needs to resort to such open displays of negativity. I’m not pointing fingers, and I sympathize with the musicians a great deal. There are, however, a lot of musicians bashing, what seems like, everyone and everything. This isn’t the time to bring negative attention to such an amazing, inspiring, wonderful, and creative medium. The enegry wasted on the negative comments, feed back, and “low blows” could best be spent finding a solution – to fixing the problem. There are a lot of words but few actions or suggestions on how to fix it. We can no longer look to fix the surface level problems, serious reorganization and changes need to be made on EVERYONE’S part. We all hate change, but if we don’t change (or adapt) the result could be far more disastrous. I wrote an article on this a long time ago, check it out here:Evolution of the Musician.

I’ve read, in the passed few days comments and arguments on:

1. The poor management of orchestras by the administrative staff
2. The elitist reactions of orchestral musicians
3. The current decline of classical music in the US (because…it’s definitely not declining in Europe.) And all th “reasons” why.
4. That music education programs are jokes and that music isn’t a viable career.
5. The poor relationship between music educators and the orchestral world. Band directors and teachers showing how little orchestral musicians participate in reaching out to the school systems (aside from occasion runout performance). And the orchestral musicians defense to those accusations.
6. The symphony model, how it is outdated and negatively affecting the classical music world.
7. Failure of classical musicians to make any attempts to connect with the community, particularly to the none music community.

I’m going to address these, not right now, but in subsequent posts. It’s too much to absorb, chew and spit back out.

I’m not certain where I stand in all this mess. So this will be a good opportunity for me to sort out my thoughts. I’d rather come to my own conclusions about whats going on, do the necessary research and formulate a clear picture in my own mind. I hate being forced feed information.

Until then, I’m just going to live, laugh, smile, and make music.

20120410-143727.jpg

Leave a Reply

