Pedal to the Metal

I haven’t had the opportunity, for the past 7 years or so, to attend any of the Clarinet Conferences in the U.S. I have always been traveling and performing throughout the summer, or managing a festival in Italy. You know, nothing really time-consuming.

I’ve always been a little bummed that I’ve never had the opportunity to go. Then I find out that it’s being held in Assisi this year, which is only an hour or so north of my apartment in Spoleto, Italy. So there WAS a possibility of being able to attend. Unfortunately, and with my luck, the time I’m in Italy does not correspond with the Clarinet Festival.

Ah well, what can you do?

Start your own festival. That’s what you can do.

So, that’s what I’m doing.

Finally, an opportunity to make a really big contribution to the clarinet playing world other than honking away on my horn.

Well, I guess there is my ped book, but that wont be done for a while.

I’m excited to finally combine my background in business administration and clarinet playing! YES!

How sweet it is!

The proposal is due to the Summer Programs office on Wednesday. It just so happens that I’m the assistant administrative director for that office, so I’ll be handing it over to my boss. The advantages of that? Knowing exactly how to plan a festival/workshop because I do it all year-long. Then my proposal gets sent to the dean and will be decided upon by Friday.

I have the motto when it comes to these types of events, “Go big or go home.” Once I’ve organize all my thoughts, I can start building a budget and timeline with deliverables.

Right now, I’m thinking a 4 to 5 day workshop with masterclasses, lectures, performances, seminars, reeds, vendors,  manufactures, etc. etc. etc.

You know the usual.

I just saw Anthony McGill last week – such a wonderful guy – and started asking him about his summer plans because I usually see him in Italy. I’m hoping that he might be available (crosses fingers). But I have a list of clarinetist to contact, people to harass and beg, and start asking for some favors.

Meetings to set up – things to do!

Now, time to write my budget and plan-of-action proposal – in between playing scales and preparing for this recording session.

Also – Performing Rhapsody in Blue and Porgy and Bess this month – somewhere, I can’t remember, actually. It’s somewhere in Ohio, need to look at the contract my rep sent me. Should be fun, haven’t played Rhapsody in Blue since I was 14 and looking forward to revisiting it.

Now that I think about it, I really should check my performance calendar. I know I’ve been contracted to play the Copland Concerto sometime soon, but cannot, for the life of me, remember where and when – might be in New York or North Carolina. I should probably figure that out, considering I need to buy a plane ticket. And brush up on a few spots in the Concerto – there’s always one section, (second to last page, second stanza) that I have a memory slip in at the dress rehearsal, determined NOT to do that again…for the fourth time.

And we’re off.

As one of my great mentors once said: Listen, love, and make music

Leave a Reply

