Challenge This!

It’s been a while.

Okay, it’s been more than a while. But I’m back, never fear, I can’t stay away THAT long…maybe only 3 or 4 months.

Things have been pleasantly busy. Frankly, I don’t remember the last time I’ve been in such a great mood.

Just got back from a long performance tour which I called the “5 states, 5 days tour.” Performed at East Tennessee State University, Virginia Tech, and University of North Carolina Greensboro. It was part of the College Band Directors National Association conference. I had a blast.

Seriously.

Even though it does sort of sound like a big geek-fest – it was a wonderful experience. Especially for networking.

While at the conference, I had one of those rare moments where ALL of my major musical influences and mentors were in one place…at one time. My band directors from high school, undergrad, masters, and doctorate – SO rare! It was great! I smiled a lot and got to play catch-up with some whom I haven’t seen in over 10 years!

And I slept a lot too, oddly enough.

Some things are in the works…CVs are flying, cover letters are hot off the presses…and I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Had a great introduction to someone that could potentially be a future colleague at a University somewhere. I’m going try to keep it quite as long as a can, even though I often fail at secrets.

I don’t want to count all my eggs in one basket JUST yet.

Associate Professor of Clarinet does have an awful nice ring to it.

Professor Butalewicz ….

Oye, no…it will definitely have to be Professor B, or Dr. B. I’ve had enough early child hood trauma. Trust me, anything you think of…I’ve heard. Well, there was this one girl who came up with something…but it’s not really appropriate to repeat in a public forum.

Regardless…this is my 30 day CHALLENGE BLOG.  My goal, or as some would call it soon to be failed hopes and dreams (but in the nicest and most sarcastic way possible), is to write a blog everyday, for 30 days.30 day challenge

Not matter how short, inconsequential, stupid, or ridiculous that blog may be…I’m going to write it.

My writing, as you can see from the latter paragraphs, has suffered tremendously. I’ve noticed a sharp decline in my ability to wordsmith beautiful and lyrical prose, even though I was never really good at it in the first place. I’m finding it more difficult to construct even the simplest emails, memos, agendas, and…in some extreme cases…random drunk text messages?!?

Don’t ask.challenge accepted

So…I’ve allotted 10 minutes (really more like 5 minutes since I’m always running late to something or another) to speed blog writing. Topics I intend to cover…likely something trivial or boring.

i catch a grenadeStay with me though…I’m hoping that by the end of my 30 days of forced blogging, I will magically blossom into a blog writing savant, writing beautiful posts about social and political events, musical misnomers, experimenting in various tenses and experimenting with my satirical and scholarly styles and voice….etc. etc.

Who am I kidding?

Blog post 1 of 30 – COMPLETE!

One response to “Challenge This!

  1. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

Leave a Reply

