Syllabus….

I’m currently in the process of writing a new syllabus for my studio. The process has been entertaining to say the least. One of the most important things to me, in writing this syllabus, is that it present core fundamentals in a clear and concise manner.

Clear and concise.

That’s where I’m getting myself into trouble. I often find that in writing one set of requirements that I turn around and try to justify those requirements with a lengthy and verbose section. This gets me into a bit of a quandary because I not only want my students/parents to understand what I require of my students but also the value.

I’m actually debating whether or not to include an additional hand-out that includes those core values and explanations. I know what happens when you give a student too much information, their eyes glaze over and lose complete interest. So my mission is clear and concise but with meaning.

 

 

Leave a Reply

